Not Your Normal Engagement

On Saturday, September 13th, 2014, my long term boyfriend and I got engaged. *Cue collective, “about damn time!”* While I am very excited, I’m also apprehensive to tell people, mainly because of how it happened.

There was no fumbling with words, no shaking, and no tears. We weren’t at a restaurant for dinner, we didn’t go on some magical carriage ride, and no one got down on one knee. There was no ring, and he wasn’t even the one who asked.

Let me set the scene up for you.

We were in the car driving to Charlotte to visit our families and pick some stuff up from his parents’ house. I had to get a boot put on my foot because of a stress fracture the day before, so I was uncomfortable with this piece of medical equipment wrapped around my foot and the bruises under my armpits from my crutches. Tim had been extremely supportive and helpful the day before, and it made me think about all of the other times he had been there for me. When I was throwing up because I drank too much the night before (silly college mistakes). When my aunt was slowly dying during Christmas and he visited her almost everyday; even though, I was down in Charlotte. All those nights I woke up kicking and screaming with panic attacks, and he’d stay up and calm me down. Thinking about that in the car had only furthered my belief that I was going to spend the rest of my life with him. I wanted him to know that.

So, I asked him. In the car. On the way to Charlotte.

I think at first he thought I was kidding because he chuckled and said, “Okay.” We started joking about it, and how we needed to tell our parents when we got down to Charlotte, and it finally sunk in, and we were happy.

We told our parents, of course. Tim’s family was extremely thrilled for the both of us. They smiled and cheered and congratulated us.

My family, was a different story. I told them, and they stared at me with this dumbfounded expression plastered to their faces. Then they found out I asked and gave Tim hell for it. Now, my family likes Tim, so their reactions were not what I was expecting. Also, who cares that I asked? Tim’s family didn’t care at all, but my family? It was like I brought up a sensitive topic like abortion.

I’m proud of my decision. If I want something, I’ll get it myself. I don’t like romance, I don’t like tears, and I don’t like cheesy moments. This was something I wanted. I don’t care that I asked. I don’t care that I asked in a car. I don’t care that we don’t have a ring.

The wedding isn’t for another two years at least. Tim needs to finish school, and we both need to get better jobs.

I’m happy that he and I are planning on a future together.

I’m happy that this wasn’t a normal engagement.

What was your engagement like? If you’re not engaged/married, what do you plan on your engagement being like? As always answer in the comments!

Leave a Reply

