Resolutions

After my post from yesterday, I wanted to write about something lighter than death. The new year started on a very depressing note, but I believe that life is not just full of depressing events and things; it’s also full of happiness and need for improvement.

Here are my resolutions and plans to keep them.

1. I will get a physical every year (like I should).

I just switched over to a different health insurance company, and the majority of doctors up at school are covered under that company, so this shouldn’t be as big of a problem for me. I will take the time to research the doctors I feel are good, and then go when I’m off from work and school (I’m hoping either Monday, Wednesday, or Friday).

2. I will get my eyes checked and my glasses fixed.

This might just happen this upcoming Tuesday. My aunt’s funeral is on the 8th, and I’m coming down from school on the 7th. I will make an appointment and I. WILL. GO.

3. I will start flossing again.

This is really hard for me to do. I was so diligent with it before I went up to school, and then life happened and flossing didn’t seem incredibly important anymore.

4. I want to break my caffeine addiction

This seems really, really hard. I love coke and coffee and tea, and when I don’t have caffeine my head feels like it’s splitting into a million little pieces with a hot ice pick. I really don’t know how I will achieve this one. I just know that this is a very big problem I have.

5. I WILL exercise more!

Gym. Walks. Group class. ANYTHING. I will get into shape (and learn how to life weights because cardio isn’t the only thing that I need to do). I will work around my school and work schedule, and go to the gym at school, which also happens to be FREE for me to use. 

NO EXCUSES, STEPHANIE!

6. I will eat healthier!

Maybe it’s because of the health problems that plague my family, but this is important, and I really need to eat healthier. This means eat more fruits and veggies, drink more water, and watch my portions. I will take my lunch to work instead of buying food. I’ll stop eating at work because 1) it’s against company policy; even though, everyone does it and 2) it’s not good for me to eat all the time at work.

7. I will play piano and sing more.

I have a keyboard. I have sheet music. I have my voice. THIS SHOULDN’T BE A PROBLEM.

8. I will read more books.

There are several books I need to finish reading and start reading. Just to name a few:

Lord of the Rings (God help me, J.R.R. Tolkien, IF LEGOLAS SINGS ONE MORE SONG, I WILL SLAY HIM WITH A MORGUL BLADE!)

A Song of Ice and Fire: A Feast of Crows (The fourth book; however, with the passing of my aunt, this might be difficult to pick back up again. It’s so dark and gruesome that I don’t think I can handle it right now.)

Unwind by Neal Shusterman (This book is really good, but super dark. It’s about how, in a world where abortions are illegal, children between the ages of 13 and 18 can be “unwound” if their parents don’t want to deal with them anymore. Basically they are killed and all of their organs are given to other people just because their parents can’t seem to handle being parents. The story follows three kids who are trying to escape the government and the unwinding process. Again, so far it’s really good but really dark).

The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King (I haven’t started it yet, but apparently it’s King’s version of a fairy tale).

Just Babies: The Origins of Good and Evil by Paul Bloom (A psychology professor from Yale examines the origins of good and evil by analyzing the works of philosophers, psychologists, and even comedians. It’s really interesting so far.)

Paper Towns by John Green (I can’t remember what this is about, but I bought it tonight because I really wanted to read a book by Green. I’m excited)

10. I will do better in school than I did last semester.

Writing notes on paper and on the computer, color coding notes, Cornell style note taking, and studying more will be my biggest help for a successful semester.

11. I want to write more and be a better blogger.

I just need to remember and make time for all of this. 

12. I want to draw more.

I got an art kit for Christmas and two new sketch pads. If I can’t keep this resolution, then I have a problem.

13. I will budget my money better.

I don’t know how, but I will. >.<

So here are my resolutions. Since I made them public, I hope I can stick to them.

So here’s to a new year, a new you, and a new me! I hope your resolutions are as challenging as they are fun!

Leave a Reply

