A Long Day

It’s interesting. I’ve had an extremely long day, but I haven’t really done anything. I played games until 4 pm, then I watched Mythbusters with Tim, went to the grocery store, and visited my aunt in the hospital.

I guess I started today off on a bad note. My sister called me at 9:30 this morning because I forgot to return her phone call two days ago. I went back to sleep, and an hour later, I woke up and checked Facebook (because it’s just that important). That same sister updated her status saying that she had a biopsy done today. I wasn’t told that about the biopsy, but apparently, the doctor hadn’t planned to administer it but felt like it was a good idea to do.

My middle sister has this rash that’s been spreading, and many people would just think, “oh it’s a rash,” and it might just be. However, it could be more. My aunt has stage 4 Cutaneous T-Cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma. It’s a blood cancer that affects 15% of all Non-Hodgkin Lymphomas in the country, and it’s aggressive (Lymphoma). See, my aunt’s cancer showed up in a weird way. Her skin began to itch and peel at first, and the doctors thought it was eczema. Then they thought it was psoriasis. Then they thought it was MRSA. Finally they found the cancer, but it was already too late. The doctor said that the cancer probably started forming when she was a teenager.

My middle sister, has eczema, but it’s spreading, and it’s bad. She had the biopsy done to rule out the same type of cancer my aunt has. I’m terrified, but I feel selfish. How can I be terrified when she is the one who personally has to deal with the waiting? I just don’t want my sister to be sick. I already have to see my aunt struggle. She’s been in the hospital for 80 days, and she’s back up here at Duke with no chance of getting discharged for Christmas.

I’ve been worried all day. I have eczema, but I rarely break out, and it’s usually at the crease of my elbow, and it’s recently been behind my knee. However, as soon as it appears and I put my cream on it, it goes away. I’m just scared, and I don’t know what to do.  

Cancer has always been a part of my family history. It feels like each generation isn’t safe from it, and they aren’t. The only thing I can think about is the fact that you are never too old to get cancer, and I wish people would stop trying to tell me otherwise. I just hope that my younger sisters, both of them, are okay.

 

 

Lymphoma Research Foundation. (2012). Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma (CTCL). Retrieved from: http://www.lymphoma.org/site/pp.asp?c=bkLTKaOQLmK8E&b=6300151

Leave a Reply

