Day 1: Discuss Your Current Relationship

Image

I met Tim 5 1/2 years ago, when I was a sophomore in high school, and he was a junior in high school. He worked at the church that I was volunteering at, and we became instant friends. In June we started dating.

Throughout these 5 years a lot has happened. We fought, as all couples do, but we also grew. We both have demons that we bring into the relationship, and it’s challenging. However, it continues to help us learn how to maintain a healthy and happy relationship.

Our relationship is built on communication, as honest and blunt as it can be because that’s what we find to be successful. How can you maintain a relationship when you can’t communicate? I’m not a person that likes things sugarcoated to me. It makes me more upset than actually being told the truth. Yes, the truth may make people feel upset, but it’s the best thing for a relationship.

I hear tons of couples who talk about how they don’t want to hurt their significant other by telling them that they are bothered by something. A relationship can’t last on being afraid. If Tim is being a jerk, I let him know, and if I’m being annoying, he tells me. With this method we never get into the huge arguments that I see happen all the time on Facebook, or that I hear about from my other friends who are in a relationship.

After 5 years that fairy tale feeling of butterflies and being on a cloud fade, but the true love we feel for each other is still there. We are comfortable around each other, which I enjoy a lot better than constantly worrying about what to wear or what to say to impress him. We are warm, honest, passionate, and loving.

We also hold similar and different interests, so we rarely get bored by just talking to each other. We love video games and reading, and we’re into World of Warcraft, so we make dates out of it.

In all honesty, I don’t think I could put up with anyone else.

Relationships take work, but we put our all into it, and I find it to be fantastic.

One thought on “Day 1: Discuss Your Current Relationship

  1. That is so cool. I think its great that you have something in common (WOW) but also areas where you do not overlap. I bet that is really important. People need to be a mystery to each other, and yet familiar. Sounds like you have that. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

